Since the debut of the social network Clubhouse in 2020, users have always been required to use a mobile app to interact with the platform. This is about to change, and people will be able to connect to Clubhouse rooms using a browser without having to register on the platform.
According to reports, Clubhouse developers have begun testing a new experimental feature that allows you to interact with social media through a browser. The mobile version of Clubhouse will have a tool for creating links to rooms, which can be shared, for example, on social networks or by email. After clicking on such a link, users will be able to join the number of listeners directly in the browser without having to download and install the service client.
today we’re introducing an easy new way to spread the word about great rooms. It’s called…drumroll….SHARING! we invented this and nobody has thought of it before; even better, when you share, people now have the option to listen on desktop – no login required
Although it will be possible to join the Clubhouse without registering, only authorized users can create links to rooms. At this stage, the innovation has become available to a limited number of Clubhouse users from the United States. It is assumed that, if required, the ability to use the platform through a browser will be extended to other markets. No specific deadlines have been announced, so it is difficult to say how long the new feature will be in testing.
Gizchina News of the week
today we're introducing an easy new way to spread the word about great rooms. It's called…drumroll….SHARING! we invented this and nobody has thought of it before.
even better, when you share, people now have the option to listen on desktop – no login required 😇 pic.twitter.com/Gw2rFkMQcs
— Clubhouse (@Clubhouse) January 6, 2022
Clubhouse has recently added a new way to enhance room discovery; with a new sharing option that will allow users to highlight interesting sessions they are in to other users.
The process is basically the retweeting version of Clubhouse, to help amplify big discussions.
As explained by Clubhouse: “Now when you tap the ‘Share’ button at the bottom of a room (or Replay); you’ll see three options. Share on Clubhouse, share via social network, or copy the link to share via a messaging app. If you select Share on Clubhouse; you will be able to add a comment and then share it with your followers. They will see this room in their hallway; and if the room is live, will also be notified that you have shared it; so they can come join you.
To be clear, Clubhouse has been offering the sharing options; through the social network and through the messaging app for some time; only the new internal sharing feature has been added.