OnePlus say goodbye to invites; OnePlus 3 to be sold invite-free


Rate this post

OnePlus started their campaign with the OnePlus One back in 2014. The company managed to stay in the headlines for long, not only because the OnePlus One was a truly nice phone for the money, but also for the invite system which was kind of new back then.

Fast forward to 2016, and people are tired of waiting in long queues, flash sales, and invite systems. Make no mistake, spending $300-400 on a phone is no joke this year, for some seriously powerful phones are available for half that much.

Which is perhaps why, OnePlus have decided to do away with invites. You read it right — the OnePlus 3 will be available invite-free.

“We’re releasing the OnePlus 3 invite-free, right from launch day. In addition, invites are gone forever from future OnePlus product launches”

Carl Pei, co-founder of OnePlus was quoted in his forum post: “We’re releasing the OnePlus 3 invite-free, right from launch day. In addition, invites are gone forever from future OnePlus product launches”.

The OnePlus 3 will officially launch 14th June (in a VR launch). To make things convenient, OnePlus have posted the time zones in different areas:

  • 12.30 PM EDT (New York)
  • 9.30 AM PDT (San Francisco)
  • 4.30 PM UTC/GMT
  • 5.30 PM BST (London)
  • 6.30 PM CEST (Paris)
  • 10.00 PM IST(Bengaluru)

Opinion: OnePlus managed to pull this off at the right time. Stretching the invite system to the OnePlus 3 would’ve meant people looked elsewhere, for there are companies offering a decent phone without having to scour for invites and/or waste time in flash sales.

So gear up for June 14th. Let’s see what OnePlus have in store — love them or hate them, OnePlus are an exciting bunch. There’s an app you can download to be able to watch the launch and purchase the OnePlus 3 — all in VR!

Previous Xiaomi Mi Band 2 shows up for pre-sale ahead of launch
Next Entry-level iNew U3 gets a $65 price tag