Whatsapp View Once Messages
Facebook wants to make Whatsapp messenger more private and they are doing so by adding features like view once messages. Starting today, the app’s beta testers on Android have begun to receive a “View Once” mode that wipes photos and videos as soon as you view and dismiss them. Despite the added privacy, there are some quirks you should be aware of before jumping in. Disabling read receipts won’t stop others from being notified if a view once message has been opened, you won’t see when a recipient opens yours.
In groups, you’ll be able to see when members have opened disappearing media even if you have read receipts disabled. I thought this feature was neat as if you wanna show someone something but don’t want them to keep it. But then there is a con as there is no such system implemented to stop someone from screenshotting the message, nor you get a notification if someone takes a screenshot or records the screen. The view once apparently still works if you send a message to someone who doesn’t have access to the feature. Those on iOS will reportedly get the new mode at a later date.