Google Translate Learns 8 New Indian Languages, See Complete List

Google Translate new Indian languages

Google Translate now supports eight new Indian languages and 16 more. While it supports 24 new languages, Translate breaks down language barriers and connects communities around the world.

Google is well-known for offering superior experiences and with Translate, people have something new to cheer about. Google Translate received a radical overhaul in 2021 with a Material You refresh design.

Google Translate 24 new languages

Now, Google is expanding its translation service to include more languages. It shared details about the update in its latest blog post, Basically, the tech giant has added 24 languages to the Translate app. So, the app now supports a total of 133 languages. Also, these languages are common around the world. More than 300 million people speak these languages. Notably, Translate surpassed 1 billion downloads worldwide in 2021. It supported 108 languages at the time.

Google Translate update

For instance, about 800,000 people use Mizo in the northeast region of India. Likewise, over 45 million people in Central Africa use Lingala. Now, the update also includes the native languages of America. These are Aymara, Guarani, and Quechua. Also, the update includes Sierra Leonean Krio. It is an English dialect. Further, this is the first time they appear on the Translate app. Now, here’s a complete list of the new languages.

Gizchina News of the week

New Indian Languages On Google Translate

  • Sanskrit
  • Mizo
  • Meiteilon (Manipuri)
  • Maithili
  • Konkani
  • Dogri
  • Bhojpuri
  • Assamese

There are 20,000 people in India using the Sanskrit language. As far as Mizo is concerned, there are more than 830,000 speakers in Northeast India. Nearly two million people there use Meiteilon (Manipuri). Maithili, on the other hand, is used by 34 million people in the northern part of India.

As far as the Konkani language is concerned, about 2 million people use it in Central India. Likewise, around 2 million people speak the Dogri language in northern India. About 50 million people speak Bhojpuri in northern India. Lastly, 25 million people in Northeast India use Assamese.

Read Also:  Google Messages Will Soon Allow You to Edit Sent Messages

Other New Languages On Google Translate

  • Aymara
  • Bambara
  • Twi
  • Tsonga
  • Tigrinya
  • Sepedi
  • Quechua
  • Oromo
  • Luganda
  • Lingala
  • Kurdish (Sorani)
  • Krio
  • Ilocano
  • Guarani
  • Ewe
  • Dhivehi

Google used Zero-Shot Machine Translation for this update, but the technology isn’t perfect. So, it will enhance these models. Also, Google wants to offer an experience similar to German translation. It aims at offering a Spanish translation-like experience. More technical details are available in the Google AI blog post. You can check the research paper for more info as well.

Native speakers, professors, and linguists helped with the latest update. Overall, the Translate app now supports more languages. Also, other updates to the app could roll out soon. It is unclear if Google will bring support for more languages in new updates, but it is quite likely.

Disclaimer: We may be compensated by some of the companies whose products we talk about, but our articles and reviews are always our honest opinions. For more details, you can check out our editorial guidelines and learn about how we use affiliate links.

Source/VIA :
Previous New Ransomware Variant Magniber Targets People In Singapore
Next Xiaomi Crossed 500 mln Users Mark, Entering Elite Club