Long criticized for its management of privacy, Facebook now makes it possible to prevent applications and websites from making the link between your activity and your profile. This will significantly reduce the information available to the social network about you.
In late December, Facebook was again criticized from all sides in the United States. Rob Sherman, the responsible for the privacy on the social network said that “when the localization is not active, Facebook can always understand where people are. This is thanks to the information which they share with their activities or the IP addresses. In addition to the other apps in which they connect”.
In an attempt to put out the fire – which has actually been burning for much longer – Facebook announced on Tuesday the arrival of new privacy management parameters. The social network now includes an “Activity outside of Facebook” tab in the application settings. This setting tells you which companies or organizations share their personal data with Facebook to gain access to your profile.
Gizchina News of the week
This new setting now allows you to clear the history of these activities. But also disconnect the various services so that they no longer share your activity by associating it with your Facebook. However, this does not mean that the data is no longer collected by third-party sites and applications. But simply that it is no longer in link to your account, but to an anonymized user.
Facebook: A POSSIBILITY TO DELETE THE DATA COLLECTED BY THE APPLICATIONS
“The information you disconnect will no longer be connected to your account. This data can still be in use without being in a link to an individual user to allow us to let businesses know how their website, app or ads are performing.” Says the company. It is also possible to display all of the information collected, download it or manage future activity. This is in particular by deactivating the use of this data. It will be possible by unchecking the box “future activity outside of Facebook”, activated by default.
This new possibility offered to Facebook users to control the data that the social network can collect is clearly a step forward in terms of privacy protection. We can, however, regret that it arrives a little late. Essentially in order to improve the brand image of the group.