WhatsApp Sends Reminder: Accept new terms or get blocked from messaging


whatsapp
WhatsApp already has a new update which all its users MUST accept if they want to continue in the platform. This update was to hit the public in January. However, this didn’t happen as a result of the public outburst with regards to the somewhat controversial update. The company has now given users until May 15th to take a decision on the new terms. If you do not accept the new terms and conditions on or before this date, WhatsApp will block you from sending or receiving any messages via the platform.
WhatsApp
As we edge closer to May 15th, WhatsApp is now sending reminders regarding the new terms and conditions. A few days ago, some users got pop-up messages just after launch the app. The pop-up message is to remind users of its new terms and privacy policy. Part of the message reads “Please accept these updates to continue using WhatsApp,”. In addition, WhatsApp has given the implication of not accepting the new terms. The company said in a blogpost
“WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you won’t have full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept…For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app.”
In a bid to calm users’ nerves, WhatsApp said “As a reminder, we’re building new ways to chat or shop with a business on WhatsApp that are entirely optional…Personal messages will always be end-to-end encrypted, so WhatsApp can’t read or listen to them. In the coming weeks, we’ll display a banner in WhatsApp providing more information that people can read at their own pace. We’ve also included more information to try and address concerns we’re hearing. Eventually, we’ll start reminding people to review and accept these updates to keep using WhatsApp,” the blog post explains.
As things currently stand, if you love this App, you have no choice but to accept the terms. However, what is really new in these Terms and Conditions? Late last year, there were uproars that the social app needs a way for Facebook to collect more personal data. However, the company sternly denies this claim. The new terms do not give Facebook access to any data from your personal information. Actually, it will only have an impact on conversations with a business account.
For more information on WhatsApp as well as other apps, click here
Source/VIA :
Previous Samsung Galaxy S21 sales set a new record
Next Lenovo Legion 2 Pro with SD 888 and 16GB of RAM hits Geekbench