Today, it became known Facebook Messenger is about to go online with a new feature, allowing users to delete a regretful or mistaken message from their chat history. This simply means in case you send the wrong message to the wrong person or just want to remove a certain message, you’ll be able to remove it in Messenger now.
According to the official statement, it will only work if you decide to delete it within 10 minutes after sending it. When tapping on the message, two options will appear: Remove for Everyone and Remove for You. When selecting the former option, it will replace your message with text that the message has been removed by you.
In April of this year, TechCrunch reported that many people said the news they received from Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg seemed to have been deleted, but their own messages they sent out still exist. Subsequently, Facebook announced that it will launch this feature soon and said that Zuckerberg’s messages were deleted for security purposes.
Facebook said in the statement at the time: ‘After Sony Pictures’ emails were hacked in 2014 we made a number of changes to protect our executives’ communications. These included limiting the retention period for Mark’s messages in Messenger. We did so in full compliance with our legal obligations to preserve messages.’
After the report was released, Facebook said it would publicly release this feature, allowing users to remove their own messages from the chat history. Facebook also said it would not have Zuckerberg delete his messages until the feature was publicly launched.
Facebook said the new feature will be available today on the latest versions of Messenger for iOS and Android. The company also added the new feature is based on the Zuckerberg power, but it underwent ‘some improvements to provide broader functionality to people using Messenger.’