Here’s How You Can Securely Send Videos and Photos Using WhatsApp’s View Once Feature


WhatsApp

Popular messaging service WhatsApp recently introduced its new View Once feature for both iOS and Android platforms, with this feature allowing users to send photos and videos that will appear just once for the recipient, after which the particular content will simply disappear.

This is a useful feature to send a particular picture or document that you do not wish to keep in the chat for a long time. The images and videos which you send via this feature will not be present in the gallery of the recipient’s phone, protecting your privacy in this regard.

Here’s a guide on how to use this View Once feature on both Android and iOS to send videos and pictures that the recipient will be able to access only once.

How to Use WhatsApp’s View Once on Android, iOS

There are some things to note before learning how to use the View Once feature on WhatsApp. First off, you need to know that as soon as you send a video or photo via this feature, you will not be able to see it again, meaning that the ability to save, share, forward or favourite the video or photo you share will not be possible.

Furthermore,, the photos and videos which will be sent via the View Once feature expires within 14 days of sending, so if you fail to open the particular content in two weeks, you will never see it again. Now, here’s how you can use this feature.

  • First, you will need to open the latest version of WhatsApp and select the photo or video that you want to send to your contact.
  • Next, you need to tap the View Once icon present next to the caption bar of your WhatsApp chat. An alert will pop up in the middle of the content you wish to send.
  • Finally, you need to press the send button to share a particular video or photo.

What Else Does the Feature Do?

Do not think of this to be a full-proof way of sending secure material, since the messaging service itself recommends sharing private content using this feature with only trusted people since the receiver can screen record or screenshot the content in question. Any notification of the same will not be provided.

The encrypted media sent using this View Once feature will remain on WhatsApp’s servers for a couple of weeks after you sent it, after which it will go away.

Previous Google accused of paying Apple to prevent it from launching its own search engine
Next Qualcomm blames manufacturers for the failure of ARM laptops