Netflix: you will soon have to pay to use your account in another place


Netflix
Credits: CNBC

Netflix had warned: the platform intends to charge those who share their password with their relatives. Indeed, according to the latter, more than 100 million users connect to accounts paid for by other people. For the service, there is no doubt: its loss of momentum at the start of the year; which manifested itself in the loss of 200,000 users, is largely due to this phenomenon.

“It’s great that our users love Netflix movies and shows so much that they want to share them more widely,” said Chengyi Long, director of product innovation at Netflix. “But the widespread sharing of accounts between households taking place today undermines our long-term ability to invest in and improve our service. In other words, you’re going to have to pay.

Thus, Netflix is ​​currently testing a new “tax” in five Latin American countries, namely Argentina, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and the Dominican Republic. As soon as the application detects that the user is trying to connect in a house that is not his; it asks him to pay an additional charge. In Argentina, this tax is 219 pesos ($1.71) and 2.99 dollars ($2.97) in other countries.

Netflix is testing paid connections in unknown locations

Netflix

Netflix specifies that this feature does not take into account connections on smartphones, laptops and tablets. In addition, in the event that the user is on vacation, the latter has the possibility of using his account for two weeks without paying any additional charge, “provided that your account has not been used previously in this place”, specifies the service before adding that “this is authorized once per site and per year».

Users can also manage their homes, adding or removing places they wish to log in to their account. On the other hand, adding a home does not increase the number of users who can watch Netflix; on the same account. For this you still have to pay. Different formulas are indeed available in these countries, allowing one, two or four people to use the same account.

Source/VIA :
Previous Snapchat web: You can finally chat and make video calls from your PC
Next Here are the first 13 Huawei smartphones to upgrade to HarmonyOS 3.0