The developers of the popular messenger WhatsApp reminded that the time dedicated to the adoption of the new rules for using the service is coming to an end. In a message that was published on the official support page of the service, the developers talked about what will happen to the accounts of users who will not accept the new rules until May 15.
“In order for you to have enough time to familiarize yourself with the changes at your own pace, we have extended the deadline for their adoption until May 15th. If you have not accepted them by this time, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, the functionality of your WhatsApp account will be limited until the changes are accepted. For a short period of time, you will be able to receive calls and notifications; but you will not be able to read and send messages in the application.” the developers said in a message.
WhatsApp will limit the functionality of user accounts that will not adopt the new rules until May 15
Users of the service should either agree with the new rules for using the messenger; or export their chat history and account report on Android and iOS by May 15th. If you choose the second option, users can delete their WhatsApp account; but the developers warn that this is an irreversible process; and after deletion, the backup copy and all message history will be permanently deleted.
Recall that the new rules for using WhatsApp suggest the possibility that the service will exchange user data with Facebook, which is the owner of the messenger. Initially, the introduction of new rules was in plan for the beginning of the year; but the news of this caused outrage among users around the world; and even led to an outflow of people who preferred to use other messengers. The backlash from users forced WhatsApp to postpone the introduction of the new rules; in order to eventually try to convince users to accept them.